NEW ALBUM Crowded House 'Time On Earth'

25-04-2007 @ 22:01

The new album released 2nd July 2007, ‘Don’t Stop Now’, the single, released 25th June
On 2nd July the re-united Crowded House release ‘Time On Earth’, their first studio album since 1993’s ‘Together Alone’. With a line-up featuring founder members Neil Finn and Nick Seymour, former member Mark Hart and new drummer Matt Sherrod, Crowded House have returned with a stunning album which deserves to be rated alongside their best. The 14 song collection has all the hallmarks of classic Crowded House - peerless melodies, imaginatively played and beautifully sung - and, as with all their albums, the cover artwork is a Nick Seymour painting.
Time On Earth’ was recorded at Roundhead Studios, Auckland, NZ, RAK Studios, London, and Real World Studios, Wiltshire, and was produced by Ethan Johns (Kings Of Leon, Ray LaMontagne) and Steve Lillywhite (U2, Morrissey). Guitar legend Johnny Marr features on two tracks, lead-off single ‘Don’t Stop Now (out 25th June), and ‘Even A Child’, a song he co-wrote with Neil Finn. Another album track, ‘Silent House’, was co-written by Finn and the Dixie Chicks, whose own version of the song appears on their Grammy Award winning album ‘Taking the Long Way’.
Crowded House formed in Melbourne in 1985 and first tasted global success with their massive 1987 hit ‘Don’t Dream It’s Over’. They continued to have hits for a decade, including perennial radio favourites ‘Weather With You’ and ‘It’s Only Natural’. The band produced four studio albums and a best of, ‘Recurring Dream’, which sold over a million copies in the UK alone, where Crowded House won the Brit for Best International Group in 1994. The band split in 1996 following a farewell concert outside Sydney Opera House in front of 120,000 fans.
Subsequently Neil Finn has forged a successful solo career, releasing two albums under his own name and two, ‘Finn’ (1995) and the Gold-selling ‘Everyone Is Here’ (2004), with his brother Tim as The Finn Brothers.
Paul Hester, Crowded House’s original drummer, tragically passed away in 2005. ‘Time On Earth’ is dedicated to his memory.

Time On Earth tracklisting:
01. Nobody Wants To
02. Don't Stop Now
03. She Called Up
04. Say That Again
05. Pour Le Monde
06. Even A Child
07. Heaven That I'm Making
08. Silent House
09. English Trees
10. Walked Her Way Down
11. Transit lounge
12. You Are The One to Make Me Cry
13. A Sigh
14. People Are Like Suns

Crowded House live:
April 29th: Coachella Festival, Indio CA, USA
June 23rd: Hyde Park Calling, London - co-headlining with Peter Gabriel
June 24th: Outsider Festival, Rothiemurchus, Scotland - headlining