Genesis 3CD anthology: R-kive

26-08-2014 @ 23:01

For the first time ever, the 37 greatest songs from Genesis and its solo members

Genesis will release the 3CD anthology collection R-Kive’ on September 26th on Virgin EMI / Universal Music Catalogue. Spanning 42 years, the 37-track set documents the band’s history with classic Genesis material compiled alongside selections from the solo careers of Tony Banks, Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel, Steve Hackett, and Mike Rutherford / Mike + The Mechanics.

Genesis and their associated solo projects have accumulated a remarkable and undiminished series of accomplishments over the years, and have collectively amassed an incredible fourteen chart-topping albums as well as over two dozen more which reached the Top 10. In total, Genesis and the members’ related solo projects have sold more than 300 million albums worldwide.

Chronologically ordered, ‘R-Kive’ features the Genesis’s biggest hits including ‘Invisible Touch’, ‘Turn It On Again’, ‘Land of Confusion’ and ‘I Can’t Dance’. Along the way it also visits Mike + The Mechanics’ classics ‘The Living Years’ and ‘Over My Shoulder’, Phil Collins’s ‘In The Air Tonight’ and his Philip Bailey duet ‘Easy Lover’, and Peter Gabriel’s ‘Solsbury Hill’.

R-Kive’ opens with ‘The Knife’- a nine-minute proto-punk number which became a favourite closing set during the band’s early shows, and was written before either Steve Hackett or Phil Collins had joined the band. In addition to 22 Genesis songs, each member’s work outside of the band is represented democratically with three songs each.

Such an approach contributes to a hugely eclectic body of work which features early material including the sprawling seven-section odyssey ‘Supper’s Ready’ and the title track of the conceptual masterpiece ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’.

Yet ‘R-Kive’ also visits the unexpected – as evidenced by Steve Hackett’s flamenco-inspired ‘Nomads’, Peter Gabriel’s ‘Signal To Noise’ which featured Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (“possibly the greatest singer we had worked with”), and ‘Calling All Stations’, the sole representative from the short-lived era in which Genesis were fronted by former Stiltskin vocalist Ray Wilson.

This album jogs memories about old albums, things people might have missed the first time around,” says Phil Collins. “Most of the time, the singles always seem to be the things that are remembered from albums. Sometimes the lesser-known tracks deserve better than to be forgotten.

“I’m a songwriter first of all,” adds Mike Rutherford. “When you put these songs together, it’s a wonderfully impressive array and variety of songs. It’s an interesting combination that doesn’t normally get put on the same page.

The release of R-Kive’ will be followed by the accompanying reunion documentary ‘Genesis: Together and Apart’ which will be broadcast by the BBC in early October. An accompanying DVD, ‘Sum Of The Parts’ will also be issued by Eagle Rock on November 17th (November 18th in North America).

Strength in depth. Vitality in variety. Creativity in diversity. In terms of what they’ve done together, and what they’ve done apart, there’s never been a band like Genesis. It’s a captivating story, told here from the beginning to the end for the very first time.


Disc 1
01. ‘The Knife’ – from ‘Trepass’ (1970)
02. ‘The Musical Box’ – from ‘Nursery Cryme’ (1971)
03. ‘Supper’s Ready’ – from ‘Foxtrot’ (1972)
04. ‘The Cinema Show’ – from ‘Selling England By The Pound’ (1973)
05. ‘I Know What I Like’ – from ‘Selling England By The Pound’ (1973)
06. ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ – from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ (1974)
07. ‘Back In N.Y.C.’ – from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ (1974)
08. ‘The Carpet Crawlers’ – from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ (1974)
09. ‘Ace of Wands’ – from Steve Hackett’s ‘Voyage of the Acolyte’ (1975)
Disc 2
01. ‘Ripples’ – from ‘A Trick of the Tail’ (1976)
02. ‘Afterglow’ – from ‘Wind & Wuthering’ (1976)
03. ‘Solsbury Hill’ – from Peter Gabriel’s first self-titled album (1977)
04. ‘Follow You Follow Me’ – from ‘And Then There Were Three’ (1978)
05. ‘For A While’ – from Tony Banks’s ‘A Curious Feeling’ (1979)
06. ‘Every Day’ – from Steve Hackett’s ‘Spectral Mornings’ (1979)
07. ‘Biko’ – from Peter Gabriel’s third self-titled album (1980)
08. ‘Turn It On Again’ – from ‘Duke’ (1980)
09. ‘In The Air Tonight’ – from Phil Collins’s ‘Face Value’ (1981)
10. ‘Abacab’ – from ‘Abacab’ (1981)
11. ‘Mama’ – from ‘Genesis’ (1983)
12. ‘That’s All’ – from ‘Genesis’ (1983)
13. ‘Easy Lover’ – (Originally released in 1984)
14. ‘Silent Running’ – from Mike + The Mechanics’s self-titled album (1985)
Disc 3
01. ‘Invisible Touch’ – from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
02. ‘Land of Confusion’ – from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
03. ‘Tonight Tonight Tonight’ – from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
04. ‘The Living Years’ – from Mike + The Mechanic’s ‘Living Years’ (1989)
05. ‘Red Day on Blue Street’ – from Tony Banks’s ‘Still’ (1991)
06. ‘I Can’t Dance’ – from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
07. ‘No Son of Mine’ – from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
08. ‘Hold On My Heart’ – from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
09. ‘Over My Shoulder’ – from Mike + The Mechanics’s ‘Beggar On A Beach Of Gold’ (1995)
10. ‘Calling All Stations’ – from ‘Calling All Stations’ (1997)
11. ‘Signal To Noise’ – from Peter Gabriel’s ‘Up’ (2002)
12. ‘Wake Up Call’ – from Phil Collins’s ‘Testify’ (2002)
13. ‘Nomads’ – from Steve Hackett’s ‘Out Of The Tunnel’s Mouth’ (2009)
14. ‘Siren’ – from Tony Banks’s ‘Six: Pieces of Orchestra’ (2012)